Seven stalwarts return to Cameroon, where they achieved great things

Seven stalwarts return to Cameroon, where they achieved great things ...

YAOUNDE, 22 Dec - On Wednesday, Hosts Cameroon named seven players from the Africa Cup of Nations squad in 2017, and will be re-actoring the success.

Toni Conceiaco has plenty of experience to work with as they play Burkina Faso in their opening match on Jan. 9 in Yaounde, followed by Group A meetings with Ethiopia and the Cape Verde Islands.

All the finalists Collins Fai, Michael Ngadjui and Ambroise Onyango were successful when Cameroon beat Egypt in the 2017 final in Gabon to win their fifth Cup of Nations title.

They return to the 28-man squad named by Conceicao with Njie, formerly at Tottenham Hotspur, recalled after being left out of the six World Cup qualifiers between September and November.

The goalskeeper Andre Onana and the Munich striker Eric Maxim Choupo Moting were selected for the 2017 squad but abandoned their plans before the tournament, but instead they wanted to remain with their clubs.

The two were available for the finals for 2021, but the deadlines were delayed due to strong concerns about the states readiness.

Enzo Ebosse has left back Angers after playing for France at the junior level. He's one of the seven French-born players in the squad.


Goalkeepers: Jean Efala (Akwa United), Devis Epassy (OFI Crete), Simon Omossola (Vita Club), Andre Onana (Ajax Amsterdam).

Defenders: Jean-Charles Castelletto (Nants), Enzo Ebosse (Angers), Collins Fai (Standard Liege), Olivier Mbaizo (Philadelphia Union), Michael Ngadeu Ngadjui (Gent), Harold Moukoudi (St Etienne), Jerome Onguene (Montpellier), Ambroise Oyongo (Montpellier), Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders)

Midfielders: Samuel Gouet Oum (KV Mechelen), Martin Hongla (Verona), Pierre Kunde Malong (Olympiakos), James Lea Siliki (Middlesbrough), Jean Onana (Girondins Bordeaux), Yvan Neyou (St Etienne), Andre Zambo Anguissa (Napoli).

We have three men: Vincent Aboubakar (Al Nasr), Stephane Bahoken (Angers), Christian Bassogog (Shanghai Shenua, China), Eric Maxim Choupo Moting (Bayern Munich), Ignatius Ganago (Racing Lens), Nicolas Moumi Ngamaleu (Byne Boys), Clinton Njie (Dynamo Moscow), Karl Toko Ekambi (Olympique Lyonnais

Our standards: Getting started.

You may also like: