Hot topics | Coronavirus pandemic

Heiko Maas: Germany Opposed Russia's Return To The G7

Heiko Maas: Germany Opposed Russia's Return To The G7

German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas said that he does not see the possibility of restoring the Group of Eight (G8) with the participation of Russia in connection with the current situation in Eastern Ukraine, as well as with the reunification of Crimea with Russia. He expressed this opinion in an interview published on Sunday for the Rheinische Post newspaper.

"The reasons for Russia's exclusion [from the G8 format] were the annexation of Crimea and interference in the situation in Eastern Ukraine. I do not see the possibility of returning [Russia to the Group of eight] until this situation is resolved, " Maas said, answering a question from the newspaper about the possibility of returning to the G8 format with Moscow's participation.

Besides, the head of the German Foreign Ministry, commenting on trump's plans, in addition to Russia, to invite Australia, India, and South Korea to the G7 summit, noted that "the G7 and G20 are two reasonably coordinated formats." "We don't need G11 or G12," Maas concluded.

In early June, the German Foreign Minister said that he doubted the feasibility of a possible change in the format of the "Big Seven."

Interaction formats

The G7 is an Association of economically developed countries that includes the United Kingdom, Germany, Italy, Canada, the United States, France, and Japan.

In 1975, the club held its first meeting in the United Kingdom, West Germany, Italy, the United States, France, and Japan. It took place in France.

In the "seven" format, the club existed from 1976 to 1997. After Russia's accession, it became the "Big Eight." In March 2014, as a result of the events in Ukraine and the subsequent crisis in US and European relations with Russia, the Western participants of the Association decided to return to the format of the "seven" while President Barack Obama was in power in Washington.

Trump has previously announced plans to postpone the G7 summit from the end of June to September and wants to invite Russia, Australia, India, and the Republic of Korea to this meeting.

You may also like: